Commissioner Profiles

The Harbor District is governed by five elected commissioners with staggered four-year terms. Commissioner elections occur as a part of the November General Election in odd years. The five Harbor District Commission Divisions share the same boundary lines as the Humboldt County Supervisorial Districts (see map).

To carry out the Harbor District's operations, the Board of Commissioners relies on a staff of full-time employees. Larry Oetker is the Executive Director and can be reached at (707) 443-0801.

Division 1 encompasses southern Eureka, Loleta and the Ferndale area. 
Commissioner VACANT
Term: 2022-2024

Division 2 covers southern Humboldt County including Fortuna, Rio Dell, Garberville and Shelter Cove. 
Commissioner Greg Dale
Term: 2015-2024

• Past President of the Humboldt County Farm Bureau
• Past President of the Rotary Club of Southwest Eureka
• Enjoys family, skiing, hunting and fishing

Division 3 includes the area covered by the City of Arcata, Bayside, Kneeland, Freshwater and Manila. 
Commissioner Stephen Kullmann
Term: 2017-2022
• Director of Demand Side Management for Redwood Coast Energy Authority
• Former Community Development Director for Blue Lake Rancheria
• Former Natural Resources Director for Wiyot Tribe
• Former Blue Lake City Council Member
• Wilderness First Responder and Swiftwater Rescue Certified
• Enjoys Humboldt County outdoor activities such as kayaking, mountain biking, rock climbing, and more

Division 4 includes the majority of the City of Eureka
Commissioner Richard Marks
(707) 496-9043
Term: 2013-2022

• Regional Compliance Manager for Construction Industry Force Account Council
• Director for North Coast Rail Authority
• President Mad River Softball Association
• Owner Marks Consulting
• Enjoys all sports

Division 5 extends from McKinleyville north to the county line and northeast Humboldt County
Commissioner Patrick Higgins
(707) 223-7200
Term: 2007-2024

• Managing Director of the Eel River Recovery Project
• Harbor District Economic Development Committee Chairman (2008-2014)
• Humboldt Bay Development Association (2015-Present)
• Redwood Community Action Agency Board (1982-1994), Chairman (1986-1994)
• Eureka Bicycle Committee (1978-1980), Chairman
• Enjoys fishing, swimming, bicycling, hiking and travel