







October 9, 2023

Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation, & Conservation District
Commissioner Aaron Newman
Commissioner Greg Dale
Commissioner Stephen Kullmann
Commissioner Craig Benson
Commissioner Patrick Higgins

Cc: CEO Larry Oetker, Humboldt County Board of Supervisors

Per email: kay6v71@aol.com, gdale574@gmail.com, skullmann@humboldtbay.org, craig.ben-son@humboldt.edu, phiggins@humboldt1.com, loetker@humboldtbay.org

Dear Commissioners:

The recent allegations of sexual harassment, violence and trafficking against Crowley are deeply concerning and must be openly and proactively addressed by the Harbor District and Crowley. Sexual violence is endemic in Humboldt County. Of particular concern is the risk to the Native population from another development boom. Northern California is the epicenter for California's large MMIP (Murdered and Missing Indigenous People) caseload.

The Yurok Tribal Court sent your Board a document that confronts these threats head-on and includes 16 proposed actions: How to Protect Native Women, Girls and People in Humboldt and Del Norte County as Offshore Wind Enters the Region: MMIP Prevention, Planning and Recommendations. (June 21, 2023). We fully support their comprehensive and thorough proposal.

We urge the Harbor District to adopt the measures proposed by the Yurok Tribal Court. These guidelines should be written into the enforceable lease with Crowley (or whatever company ultimately has the lease) and should be part of a Community Agreement package with the local community and the Tribes.

The rapidly increasing climate emergencies of this summer underline the need for swift and decisive action on renewable energy. Moving quickly requires that renewable energy be developed in ways that benefit the host communities. This is an opportunity for the Harbor District to demonstrate they

will prioritize protecting our community while moving ahead on climate mitigation and local economic growth.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.

350 Humboldt Steering and Offshore wind Committees

Nancy Ihara Jenifer Pace Martha Walden Daniel Chandler Cathy Chandler-Klein

IBEW Local 1245 Bob Dean- Business Manager

Colin Fiske, Executive Director and President Coalition for Responsible Transportation Priorities

Gregg Gold, Chair North Group Sierra Club